From its foundation in 1948 as the Radio Éireann Symphony Orchestra, the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra has been at the forefront of symphonic music in Ireland providing an unbroken stream of concerts. World-class conductors associated with the orchestra during its 70 years of existence, including Jean Martinon and Sir John Barbirolli, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Martha Argerich, Radu Lupu, Angela Gheorghiu, Kiri te Kanawa, Luciano Pavarotti, Plácido Domingo, Constantin Silvestri, Charles Dutoit, Witold Lutosławski, Olivier Messiaen, Karlheinz Stockhausen and Arvo Pärt.


Today, the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra plays a central role in classical music in Ireland through year-long programmes of live performances, schools and educational projects, broadcasts on RTÉ lyric fm and internationally through the European Broadcasting Union, recordings and new commissions. Since September 2017, Nathalie Stutzmann has been appointed as Principal Guest Conductor of this important European symphony orchestra.